When it comes to DUI in the state of Washington, we hear many of the same questions over and over again. These are the top 3 most common questions we get about DUI:
#1 – Can I still be charged with DUI if my breath test was below the legal limit?
Many individuals are shocked to find out that the answer is yes. If the officer and prosecuting attorney believe that they have sufficient evidence that, even though you were below the legal limit, your driving abilities were significantly impaired, then they may choose to charge you with DUI. Officers can also arrest you even if your breath test shows that you are below 0.08. As long as they have reason to believe that letting you continue to drive would pose a danger, they can arrest you. They might believe this based on other tests that they can perform like a field sobriety test or based on their personal observations of your behavior.
#2 – If the officer punches a hole in my licence, does that mean my license is suspended?
Not right away. You should request a hearing within 20 days after your arrest in order to contest the action of suspending your license. Once you request a hearing, you will get several documents. As long as you carry the piece of paper on the bottom of your hearing request with you, your license will still be valid for up to 60 days.
#3 – How can a DUI defense attorney help me?
Most individuals are not familiar with the process that the state of Washington has in place for DUI. From the DUI arrest to the DOL hearings, having a lawyer by your side can make a huge difference. An experienced DUI attorney also knows which defenses to DUI are likely to work and which are not. A DUI attorney could reduce your charges, or even have a case dismissed.
If you have been charged with DUI in the state of Washington, contact Dan Murphy’s Law Offices today for a free consultation.
Call today — (253) 312-6122 — your future may depend on it.