A suburb town of both Tacoma and Seattle, Auburn Washington lies peacefully away from the hustle and bustle of big city life. Yet even in this small town of 70,000 DUI in Auburn is a serious offense with very real consequences. If you are found guilty of DUI you face up to a year in jail, up to $5,000 in fines, and up to a year of license suspension for a first offense. Penalties are much worse if you are guilty of a second or third offense, or have other charges on your criminal record. Unlike other offenses, the complex nature of a DUI means seeking the aid of an attorney is your best bet.
Promising DUI Defenses
If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Auburn, Washington you may not think you have a good chance of defending yourself. Chemical test results are sure to prove that alcohol was in your system at the time of your arrest, right? Wrong. Although blood, urine, and breath tests tend to be accurate measures of your status, there are many things that can go wrong with these types of tests. A knowledgeable Auburn DUI lawyer is able to use details of your case and the results of these tests to provide a strong legal defense.
- The Rising BAC Defense: The rising BAC (blood alcohol content) defense considers the fact that your body takes time to process alcohol and become impaired. Legally, it is against the law to have an excessive BAC while you are driving, not at the time you are being tested for alcohol. Your BAC continues to rise from the time you are pulled over to the time you are tested, as it takes 45 minutes to 3 hours for the alcohol to be completely absorbed.
- The Accuracy of the BAC Test: Challenging the accuracy of the BAC tests that were performed is a viable defense method, as any tests are prone to inaccuracies. The equipment used could have been defective or improper testing methods could have been used. The advantages of hiring a professional and dedicated DUI attorney in Washington increase your chances of having your sentence reduced or having your case thrown out entirely.
- The Improper Stop Defense: Sometimes police officers cannot prove that they had any good reason to pull you over in the first place. If the officer cannot explain in court why you were stopped, the entire case may be dismissed.
When you are arrested for DUI your driver’s license is suspended within 20 days of your arrest. You only get one chance at hiring a competent and skilled defense attorney in Auburn. Don’t hesitate to contact Attorney Dan Murphy, Jr. at (253) 312-6122 for a free legal consultation.